The Final Countdown

The purpose of this blog is to make you uncomfortable. With that being said, I believe there is something incredibly wrong with comfortable Christianity. I believe that God has called us to uncomfortable, dirty, in- the- trenches kind of moments, and that we should be satisfied with nothing short of seeing Heaven come to Earth. Sitting in church on Sunday morning, being in a home group, having a daily quiet time—it’s just not enough. It’s not enough to just profess what we believe with our mouths and to live a life of complacency. We are involved in a war that is very real and very messy, and although Jesus has the victory, the world doesn’t have Jesus yet.

I’ve been feeling the weight of eternity these past few weeks. That’s sounds super spiritual and #oversaved, but I have. I have felt the weight of our nation, of our world, and of the unbelievers around me who I know will spend eternity separated from the God who I am so in love with. I have felt the weight of it as I drive around my city and see families living in apartments that are falling apart around them, as I stand at the alter on a Wednesday night to pray with the students fighting addictions and abusive relationships and just trying to live through high school. I see it as I walk around my college campus among a generation of people who claim to know Christ, but who have no idea what He’s really like.

So the question is this: what do we do about it? This is where the heart check comes in. WE have to truly know Jesus. We have to truly encounter Jesus as He was made to be encountered. We have to be filled with Holy Spirit and empowered as we live our live day-to-day. We have to pop the bubbles we have built around us, and really step into the world.  

One of my favorite moments with Jesus is in John 6, when He is telling the disciples to “eat my flesh and drink my blood.” That one scripture has enough meat for another six blog posts, but I want to focus on the last part of the chapter. The statement Jesus made following His disciple’s reaction may be one of the best one-liners ever. As they are grumbling amongst themselves and feeling uneasy about the statement (because let’s face it, it was weird), Jesus turns to them and says, “Does this offend you? Then what if you see the Son of Man ascend to where He was before!”

Does this offend you? Does Jesus calling you out of your bubble to really do something for Him offend you? Does turning from your life, whether you are living in sin or blindly pursuing the Son of God who ransomed you, offend you? Does Jesus saying, “Give up everything and follow me,” or God saying, “Those who are lukewarm I will spit out of my mouth,” offend you? Good.

The scriptures say that many of His disciples turned from Him and no longer followed Him. They realized that Christianity could never be convenient, and they bailed. Jesus turns to asks the twelve if they want to leave as well, and Simon Peter says to Jesus, “Where else will we go?”

Where else will you go? If you have truly experienced the love of Christ, there is nowhere else to run. So the point is this: If you aren’t living a life of reckless abandon, truly encountering and seeing the power of Holy Spirit each day, what are you doing? You are just giving lip service to a God who has requested your life. You are posting a Facebook status or reading the obligatory three chapters from your Bible instead of stepping foot onto the battle ground. My prayer for each of us is that we would encounter God in such a way, that we would be ruined for anything short of seeing His glory each day.

-Hallie

Leave a Reply

